Main PHISC Committee


The purpose of the PHISC is:

  • to agree, communicate, provide implementation guidelines and monitor wherever possible, national health information standards in the private health industry and to do so with maximum co-operation with all interested parties


The committee limits its focus to those industry-wide challenges which involve:

  • research, recommendation and when possible, implementation of the following standards
  • diagnostic and procedural
  • diagnostic related groupers
  • privacy and confidentiality
  • messaging and software technical
  • privacy and confidentiality
  • Electronic Health Records (EHR)

Areas of focus which are considered out-of-scope pertain to standards which require legislation or implementation at a national level. 

PHISC Management Committee Members

Committee Chairperson Co-Chairperson
PHISC Morne Visser Matthew Zylstra
Clinical Coding Lize Muller Erna van Rooyen
Electronic Health Records Clive Daniell Morne Visser
Message Standards Sandy Miller Adriaan Cruywagen
Pharmaceutical Coding Inez Naidu Jeanine Thom
Healthcare Information Governance Debbie Worton Natalie Zimmelman
Medical Devices and IVDs Vacant